Home / Umbrella Final Agreement Yukon First Nations

Umbrella Final Agreement Yukon First Nations

“25 years ago, Canada, Yukon and the Yukon Indian Council (now the Yukon Council of First Nations) signed the framework agreement. This document provided the model for the 11 modern contracts we have today in the Yukon and also provided for the negotiation of self-management agreements. The first four final self-management agreements were signed in 1993 by Champagne and Ashihik First Nations, Na-Cho Nyak Dun First Nation, Teslin Tlingit Council and Vuntut Gwitchin First Nation. Yukon Country`s claims refer to the process of negotiating and executing Aboriginal land claim agreements in Yukon, Canada, between First Nations and the federal government. On the basis of historical occupation and exploitation, First Nations claim fundamental rights in all countries. Looking to the future, Canada`s commitment to working on a nation-to-nation basis with Yukon First Nations governments, as well as with the First Nations Council and the Yukon government to recognize and implement Aboriginal rights remains unwavering. It is only in true partnership that we will realize the vision, hopes and dreams presented in Together Today for Our Children Tomorrow, which are reflected in the following agreements. Before Yukon First Nations regained their autonomy, the federal government regulated how they could use their country. Prior to the agreement, Yukon First Nations claimed the country and Yukon resources as all under their ownership. [3] This was based on the traditional occupation and use of this land. But all Yukon cases were controlled by Indian and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC). [3] INAC was responsible for implementing programs related to law, land reserves, health, social services and housing. Yukon First Nation groups implemented these programs but did not have the authority to change them.

[3] Negotiations resumed in the late 1980s and culminated in 1990 with the Umbrella Final Agreement (UFA). The UFA serves as a framework or presentation of individual agreements with each of yukon`s 14 federally recognized First Nations. It was signed in 1993 and the four First Nations ratified their focal claim agreements in 1995. To date (January 2016), eleven of the 14 First Nations have signed and ratified an agreement. Currently, white River First Nation, Liard First Nation and Ross River Dena Council are not negotiating. Carolyn Bennett, Minister of Crown Aboriginal Relations and Northern Affairs, today issued the following statement on the 25th anniversary of the signing of the Umbrella Final Agreement and the first four Yukon First Nations agreements and self-management agreements. , and the modern contracts and the resulting self-management agreements, was long and unexplored. While there have been many challenges along the way, the agreements embody the common path we have forged together, fairer and more inclusive for all. They put power back in the hands of 11 Yukon First Nations to govern their communities and gave all Yukoners a greater voice in land management by changing the way business is done in the Yukon, with First Nations at the table, shaping cross-sector policies and economic development for the benefit of Yukon First Nations all Yukoners and Canadians , have stimulated.